Direction

IMG_0974**Originally written February 22, 2015**

Where are you going?

Sunrise out the windows of Heathrow airport early in the morning is quite a beautiful site. I find myself sitting and asking myself, where am I going?

No, I’m not trying to figure out what plane I’m getting on or where it’s going, that I know; rather, where am I going in life.

I don’t like to think of my life sitting still, or myself for that matter, yet over the last few weeks I have done a lot of sitting still. There have been meetings as our team has worked through process updates, planned our major story pieces for the next several months and done some team building exercises.

This has given me a lot of time to think about where I am going in my life and craft. I have been setting challenges and goals for myself over the last year and as I look ahead to my year and my travels I am looking forward to opportunities to see how I have grown as a photojournalist and what goals I can set for the future.

Not everyone likes to plan ahead or map out goals, there are articles written on both sides of this, reasons to set goals, how goals are killing productivity. I’m not trying to add to the noise one way or the other, maybe goals aren’t for you or your office, they are for me and for the organization I work for.

For me, it is a matter of direction. Without goals I will likely be running around in circles and an unproductive mess. I, therefore, continue to map out where I want to be as a photojournalist over the coming year, what connections I want to have in my city, and overall where I’d like to see myself as a person. All of this is giving me vision and direction for my life and craft.

But for now, its time to catch a plane.

Leave a Reply

