a lazy afternoon

sunshine through branchToday is a good day to be lazy. I don’t know why but it seems like as fall is coming around it is just easier to sit and do nothing. The windows are open, there is a nice cool breeze, we don’t have anything we have to be doing, we can just relax. So my wife and I are sitting in our living room working on our computers (ha, seems kinda sad).

She has been writing some articles on Prague and Budapest lately and it got me thinking about some pictures that I took while in Prague and how I have grown so much as a photographer since then. I love taking time to look back and see where I have been because it helps me to see the progress I am making as well as keeps me focused on the path that I am taking and the direction in which I am wanting to be going.

I was reading recently on Corwin Hiebert’s blog about how he hits the “reset” button on things in the fall, I don’t know that I have a “reset” button but I definitely find it beneficial to keep a regular inventory of these things throughout the year.

The irony of all of this though is that in January I will be going back to school full-time to get my Master of Arts degree in Intercultural Studies. This is a necessary step for my wife and I as we are planning to move back overseas to continue in using media and photojournalism in missions.

The hard part for me is knowing that photography will not be as prominent in my life. I don’t know what it is going to look like for the next few years, but as I enter this fall knowing that it’s the last bit of free time (photographically speaking) that I will have for a while. I am excited to see what this coming year holds and how I will be able to continue to develop my craft and grow as a photographer.

OK, so this seems like it is sad, but really I’m excited to see where this will all lead. I have seriously grown so much over even just the past year let alone the past two years in photography, and I know that these last few sessions I have this fall will be so much fun, but reality is it’s all gonna change. No reason to fight it, so I’m gonna embrace it and see what the Lord has in store.

2 thoughts on “a lazy afternoon

Leave a Reply

