Simple joy

Last week I shared about struggles with maintaining vision and the need sometimes to just step aside and do whatever you need to do to recharge yourself both physically and creatively.

So I did that. Last week I was pretty low key as far as photography and creativity, knowing that I had a shoot on Saturday I wanted to be prepared and charged.

When Saturday rolled around, I was so excited. It was an opportunity to catch up with some old friends as well as photograph their children. It felt so good to pick up my camera again. I had spent the week mentally preparing for that moment and when it came, I was ready.

This was a new venture for me; I don’t have a lot of experience photographing children. I was excited to jump into this and see what happened. The weather was great; we went out to a local park and got some great shots. Since the shoot, I have been so encouraged through the comments from others about the pictures. It’s great to create something that others truly appreciate and are blessed by.

I am blessed by being able to make pictures for people that bless them. That’s why I do what I do. There is nothing in photography that is more important to me than being able to use my craft to make a positive impact on someone’s life, which is what keeps me going and what recharges my batteries the most.

So now that I’m feeling fresh, I have a list of editorial work that I need to get back to.

2 thoughts on “Simple joy

Leave a Reply

