Morning thoughts

I woke up this morning really tired, so after convincing my wife she should stay in bed and rest, I’m sitting at my computer, relaxing, this morning instead of the hour long intense workout that is our normal 5 day a week routine.

That being said, I wanted to write out some thoughts I have been processing this morning.

What makes a person a photographer? Is it simply having a camera and taking pictures? Or have we made it to be something more? I spend a lot of time trying to glean from the works of duChemin, Jarvis, Grobl and others, sometimes achieving the challenge sometimes not but always trying.

So currently I have a list of challenges on my computer that I am attempting to accomplish. It is encouraging to me to know that even if I don’t have a photography gig for the week or however long, I still have something to push and challenge my creativity and depth in photography.

Sometimes it’s just hard to keep your eyes focused on the path and moving forward, especially after a really difficult shoot. This past Sunday night I was shooting an event and the lighting was terrible. The idea was to create an environment that just has enough light to see each other, but not too much. This is great for creating a modern space that appeals to group of young adults and teenagers, but trying to photograph the event in that lighting (without pulling out your flash) is quite difficult.

I found myself shooting with high ISOs and apertures between 1.4 and 2.8 depending on the lens I was using, and still I couldn’t get my shutter speeds high enough to really capture the images I wanted. When I got home and looked through the pictures and pulled out the ones I thought were decent I just sat there trying to see the good in all of this. It’s a funny thing because as frustrating as the shoot can be, I look back and love the fact that I got to pick up my camera and take pictures for someone. I got to creatively create something for someone to use to promote their ministry. Isn’t that what it’s all about, using our talent to help others?

So in closing, as I’m sitting here enjoying the quiet morning, I’m learning to use the difficult moments in this craft to push me ever forward, taking these moments and dissecting them, in a healthy way, to learn from them. Asking myself, what did I do right in this situation, what was good about the images I’m going to use, and of course, what could I do differently next time?

This craft is something we will always be working on; there will always be something to develop, someone who is better, and something to stretch us to our limits. I don’t know about you, but that’s what I love about being a photographer.

One thought on “Morning thoughts

  1. I have a lot of “difficult moments” with my photography. Most include my accessory flash [as it hates me]. But I do learn from my mistakes. And your right, just getting to pick up the camera makes it worth while. 🙂

Leave a Reply

