Creativity

What sparks creativity? Isn’t that the question that everyone wants answered? Wouldn’t making pictures be so much easier if creativity was simply pushing a button?

As much as I would love to think that there is a simple formula for creativity, what I know to be true tells me creativity isn’t something that is necessarily taught.

Creativity comes naturally and sometimes unexpectedly. It is all around you and in you (maybe deep down but none the less, it’s there).  I find that if I’m trying to make something happen creatively it will end up looking over thought and the end result will look nothing like what I had in mind.

Are some people more creative than others? Maybe, I don’t know, but I think that just as God has made us all creatively different, we are also given some level of that creativeness innately in us.

So if we all have some level of creativity, the question then is how to we develop it.

I just finished reading the 7 book Harry Potter series, by J.K. Rowling, and I am amazed at the depth of creativity in these books. I often found myself wishing that I could, just for a few hours, sit down and talk with Rowling about what goes on inside of her head. No, Harry Potter doesn’t have anything to do with photography, but the idea isn’t just taking pictures. Many times I found myself getting lost in the creative depth of Rowling’s books.

It can be easy to focus so much on the technique and science of photography that we lose sight of the real reason we are creating images. What if next time you went out to do a shoot, whether for yourself or for a client, you didn’t think about the relationship between ISO, shutter speed and aperture, but simply took pictures that looked good. Yes you need to think about the technical side of photography to really master it, but if we are letting it dominate over our creativity we need to step back and start over.

Leave a Reply

